STATE OF MICHIGAN
RuTH JOHNSON, SECRETARY OF STATE

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

LANSING

MEMORANDUM

DATE: July 1, 2015
TO: Circuit, District, Family and Municipal Court Judges and Staff
FROM: Court Liaisons; Kari Ferri, Lee Ann Gaspar, and David Handsor

Michigan Department of State

SUBJECT: 2014 Public Act 283 (SB 633)

Effective December 31, 2014, the Michigan Department of State will implement Public Act 283
of 2014, amending the Michigan Vehicle Code 257.732b. PA 283 allows a person to complete
10 hours of community service for each qualifying violation that was assessed a $200 and $150
Driver Responsibility fee. The Community Service program will end on December 31, 2015.
Any community service application forms submitted after December 31, 2015, will not be
accepted.

Community service can be completed instead of payment for the following qualifying violations:

* No Proof of Insurance

* No Insurance

 Drove without Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator
» Drove While License Expired

« Drove While Unlicensed or License Not Valid

Note: This program DOES NOT include "Driving While License Suspended/Revoked/Denied"
OR "No Insurance Under the Insurance Code."

In December 2014, qualifying individuals were sent a one-time written notification to the address
on file with the Department of Treasury. The notification letter explained the offenses on the
driving record and those that qualified for community service. A community service application
was included with the notification letter. If opting to participate the individual was directed to
fill out the form completely and mail it to the address on the form.
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An individual should not start community service until they have received a verification letter
from the Department of Treasury stating that the application has been received and approved.
The Department of Treasury will notify the Department of State of the individual’s intent on
completing community service.

The 10 hours of community service must be completed within a 45 days. If there is more than
one qualifying offense on the driving record, the individual may opt to do 10 hours of
community service in blocks of 45 days for each assessment or group them all into one 45 day
period.

Upon completion of the community service the person who supervised the volunteer efforts must
sign the community service form, verifying that the required hours and work were completed.
Once the form is signed, it must be sent back to the Department of Treasury.

Community service will not be approved if the Driver Responsibility fee was previously paid.

Reinstatement fees are not included in the Community Service program.

Please see the attached Driver Responsibility Fee Community Service Frequently Asked
Questions.

For further information and guidelines for eligibility call Michigan Department of Treasury at
800.950.6227 or visits www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility.

If you have any questions, please contact Court Liaisons Kari Ferri (517) 636-0962, Lee Ann
Gaspar (810) 762-0764 or David Handsor (517) 636-0129.
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Driver Responsibility Fee Community Service
Public Act 283 of 2014

What’s new about the Driver Responsibility Fee Program?

Public Act 283 of 2014 is a new law that allows you to perform community service to waive fees for certain
driving violations under the Driver Responsibility law. The law requires 10 hours of community service for each
qualifying violation.

Community service is defined as: Engaging in a useful and productive activity for someone other than a family
member without receiving any compensation (money or gifts). Volunteer work at local nonprofits
(organizations classified as a “504c¢(3)”), churches, schools, or city and state agencies can count. To search for
volunteer opportunities, visit www.volunteermichigan.org.

Am | eligible for to perform community service to waive my Driver Responsibility Fee?

If you are eligible for the program, you will be contacted through the mail by the Michigan Department of
Treasury in December 2014. It depends on what types of offenses are on your driving record; not all Driver
Responsibility offenses will qualify for the community service program.

Which driver responsibility fee offenses can be waived by completing community service?
The fees assessed for these offenses can be waived by completing community service:

e No Proof of Insurance

e No Insurance

e Drove without Proper License/Endorsement/Vehicle Group Designator

e Drove While License Expired

e Drove While Unlicensed or License Not Valid

How will | be notified if | am eligible to do community service?

If you are eligible, you will be mailed a notification letter to the address the Michigan Department of Treasury
has on file for you. Your notification letter will explain what offenses are on your driving record and which
ones qualify for community service. Letters will be sent to qualifying individuals in a one-time mailing during
December 2014.

How do I sign up for community service?

A community service application will be included with your notification letter. Fill out the form completely and
mail it to the address as directed on the form. Applications are also available on the Driver Responsibility
website at www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility. Information about the program may also be found at
Secretary of State Branch Offices and Treasury Field Offices.

When do | start my community service?

Do not start your community service until you receive a verification letter from the Michigan Department of
Treasury stating that your application has been received and approved. After your application is received, the
Department of Treasury must notify the Department of State that you intend on completing community
service as an alternative to paying a Driver Responsibility Fee.

Driver Responsibility FAQs (11/14) 1


http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/pdf/2014-PA-0283.pdf

How many hours of community service do | have to complete to have my Driver
Responsibility Fee waived?

You will need to complete 10 hours of community service for each qualifying Driver Responsibility violation.
For example, three qualifying violations will require 30 hours of community service (10 hours for each
qualifying violation).

Once | have been approved for community service, how long do | have to complete it?

The clock starts ticking with the date indicated in your verification letter. You will have 45 days from that date
to complete your community service. If you have several qualifying violations and cannot complete all of the
community service hours required in one 45-day period, you may defer some of them on your initial
application and make a separate application at a later date. The Community Service program will end on
December 31, 2015. Any applications submitted after December 31, 2015 will not be approved.

What happens if | fail to complete my community service within the 45-day time frame?
If you do not complete the required community service hours within 45 days of the date indicated in your
verification letter, the Department of Treasury will notify the Department of State and your driver’s license
may be suspended. You will still be responsible for paying your Driver Responsibility Fees.

What happens if there’s an emergency and | can’t complete my community service?

You may withdraw from your community service agreement for “good cause,” such as an injury or illness that
prevents you from completing your community service. You may withdraw by sending a letter to the Michigan
Department of Treasury providing your name, account information, and reason for withdrawal. You may apply
to complete community service again for those qualifying assessments before December 31, 2015. You must
resume previous installment agreements on any assessments from which you withdrew community service, or
you must make an installment agreement to prevent suspension of your driver’s license.

Once my community service is completed, what happens next?

The person who supervised your volunteer efforts must sign your community service form, verifying that you
completed the required hours and work. Once the form is signed, it must be sent back to the Department of
Treasury at the address provided on the form.

Can | also do community service to have my reinstatement fee waived?
No, community service is only being offered to waive certain Driver Responsibility Fees.

When does the community service program end?
The Department of Treasury will end the program on December 31, 2015. Any requests for community service
submitted after December 31, 2015 will not be accepted.

What happens if | don’t sign up for community service?

If you receive a notification letter from the Michigan Department of Treasury and do not sign up for any
community service, the status of your driving record does not change. You will still be responsible for paying
any Driver Responsibility fees that you owe.

Driver Responsibility FAQs (11/14) 2



Can | do community service and receive a refund for any Driver Responsibility Fees I've
already paid?

No, once a Driver Responsibility Fee has been paid, community service cannot be approved.

When will my driver’s license be reinstated?
If you have paid the reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State AND if there are no other active suspensions
or revocations on your driving record, then your driver’s license will be reinstated.

If 1 have other fees that do not qualify for waiver by community service, will | continue to

pay them while | am on community service?

Yes, you must continue with any approved installment agreements with Treasury regarding assessments that
either do not qualify for waiver through this program or are not approved for waiver on the current
application.
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