
 

 

 
Michigan Supreme Court 

State Court Administrative Office 

Trial Court Services Division 

Michigan Hall of Justice 

 P.O. Box 30048 
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Phone (517) 373-4835  

 

Jennifer Warner 

       Director 

MEMORANDUM 

 

DATE:  May 24, 2016 

 

TO:  All Michigan Certified Court Reporters, Recorders, and Operators 

 

FROM: Denice Purves, Program Coordinator 

  Michigan Court Reporting/Recording Board of Review 

 

RE:  Annual Certification Renewal 

 

 

Beginning June 1, you may renew your court reporting certification.  The deadline to timely 

renew is August 1.  If you have worked as a court reporter, recorder, or operator during the 

period September 1, 2015, through August 1, 2016, you are eligible to renew your certification 

pursuant to MCR 8.108.   

All certifications must be processed through the Correcs system, which will be activated to 

accept renewals on June 1.  Renewals cannot be processed prior to June 1.  You must indicate 

in the work history section of the renewal page how many hours, weeks, or months you worked 

in each certification you hold.  Certified Electronic Operator (CEO) applicants must have worked 

a minimum of 10 hours for the period, and your chief judge must verify your work history.  

The Correcs system will provide a signature page that must be signed by both the CEO and the 

CEO’s chief judge and mailed to the State Court Administrative Office (SCAO). 

After logging into the system, please check your Correcs personal information page to verify that 

both your personal and business addresses and phone numbers are current.  Please include your 

direct phone extension if applicable.  Please fill out both the home and business sections of the 

form, even if your business address is the same as your home address.  If you work for a court or 

a court reporting firm, please use the dropdown menus provided.  Be sure to indicate what 

county your business address is in. If your firm’s name does not appear on the dropdown menu, 

please contact the SCAO at (517) 373-9526.  You must include either your home or business e-

mail address.  The SCAO provides only business information to the public and does not share 

any e-mail addresses.  To ensure that all of your information is saved, please scroll all the way to 

the bottom of the page and click on the “save” button.   
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The renewal fee is $30. You may pay by check or credit card.  If you pay by check, you must 

print off and mail the payment insert sheet, along with your check, to the address provided on the 

form.  If you are a CEO and are paying by credit card, you must still mail in the payment insert 

sheet containing your and your chief judge’s signatures.  

The deadline to renew your certification without penalty is August 1, 2016.  Any renewal 

received after August 1, 2016, will be assessed a $100 late fee.  If you are renewing by mail, 

please allow enough time for your payment to be received by the August 1 deadline.  Any 

payment received after August 1 that does not include the $100 late fee will be returned to the 

sender without processing.  Beginning at 12:00 a.m. August 2, 2015, the Correcs system will 

automatically assess a $100 late fee to those who pay online.  We recommend that you not wait 

until the last minute to renew, as potential heavy Internet traffic may delay the renewal process.  

No refunds of late fees incurred will be given for any reason. 

All certifications expire on August 31, 2016.  Reporters, recorders, and operators who do not 

process their certification renewal on or before August 31, 2016, may no longer report or 

record proceedings until the Board has reviewed the expired certification.  Expired 

certifications cannot be processed through the Correcs system.  Please go to 

http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/OfficesPrograms/CRR/Pages/Policies-for-

Certification.aspx to access the application form to request reinstatement of an expired 

certification. 

If your employer pays your certification fee, please complete the process early enough to allow 

sufficient time for check processing.  Late payments received from employers are not exempt 

from the $100 penalty.  Please be sure that the correct paperwork is included with your 

employer’s payment.  If your employer uses self-enveloping checks, please request that the 

check be mailed with the appropriate paperwork. Please mail the check and the payment insert 

sheet together.    

 

Beginning June 1, Log onto https://mcap.courts.michigan.gov/correcs/ to renew your 

certification.  Instructions for processing are posted at the sign on screen. 

 

Certification cards are printed once around July 1, August 2 and September 1.  Your card will 

arrive based upon the date you renewed your certification.  If you wish to check the status of 

your renewal, login to your account and scroll to the bottom of the renewal page.  If you have not 

yet processed your online renewal, the status at the bottom of the page will say “Ready.”  If you 

renewed and are paying by check, the status will read “Awaiting Payment.”  Once your check or 

credit card payment has been received, the status will read, “Payment Received.”  Once your 

card has been processed for mailing, the status will read, “Card Mailed.”  If you do not receive 

your certification card, please send an e-mail to CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov.  Include your name, 

certification number, and payment information. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this information or have trouble with the renewal process, 

you may e-mail CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov for assistance.  

http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/OfficesPrograms/CRR/Pages/Policies-for-Certification.aspx
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/OfficesPrograms/CRR/Pages/Policies-for-Certification.aspx
https://mcap.courts.michigan.gov/correcs/
mailto:CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov
mailto:CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR CREATING A NEW ACCOUNT 

AND ONLINE CERTIFICATION RENEWAL 

If you have never accessed the Correcs system or have not previously set up your account 

in the Correcs system, begin with “Creating a user account” below.  If you have already 

created an account, proceed to “Access Correcs System” below. 

 

Creating a User Account 

1. Go to https://mcap.courts.michigan.gov/correcs/ 

2. Under “Create New Account,” on the Reporter Login screen, click where it says “existing 

certification number.” 

3. Enter your certification number (digits only), last name, date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy), and 

home zip code, and then click the “Continue” button.   

4. A message will indicate if the system was able to match the information you entered with 

your certification record.  If not, you will need to correct any erroneous data and click the 

“Continue” button again.  If you continue to receive error messages, exit the system and send 

an e-mail to CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov for assistance.  If your information was entered 

correctly, continue with the next step. 

5. Enter your e-mail address.  Enter a password; retype the password for verification, then click 

the “Create Account” button. 

6. You will receive an e-mail to keep for your records indicating that you have successfully 

created a Correcs account. 

7. You just created your account.  You may now move on to the renewal process.  Proceed to 

Renew Certification below. 

 

If you have already created an account in the Correcs system, begin here. 

 

Access Correcs System 

1. Go to https://mcap.courts.michigan.gov/correcs/. 

2. Type in your e-mail address and password.  

3. If you have forgotten your password, click on “Request a New One” under “Reset Password.” 

 

Renew Certification 
1. Click on the “Personal Information” tab.  Verify that your address and employment 

information are correct.  Make any necessary corrections.  In the employer information 

section, if you select “Firm” it will take a few seconds for the list to appear.  If you change 

any information, click on the “Save” button.  If possible, please list a direct phone number 

for work.  Only employer information is available to the public. 

2. Select the “Renewal Tab.”  Only certifications expiring August 31, 2016, are eligible for 

renewal.  Select all certifications that you are eligible to renew.  You must have recorded 

proceedings in each designation you are renewing during September 1, 2015, through August 

1, 2016, to be eligible to renew that certification.  If you hold more than one certification, the 

fee is still a total of $30 to renew all your certifications. 

3. Fill in the “Equipment Used” box. 

4. Indicate “yes” or “no” to the felony question.  If you answer yes, explain the circumstances. 

5. Select your payment method: Visa, MasterCard, or check.  Click the “Continue” button. 

mailto:CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov
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Choose Payment Option 

If you choose the credit card method, follow the instructions and visual cues on the screen. 

If you choose to pay by check, mail your check to Certification, PO Box 30048, Lansing, MI 

48909.  Include the payment insert sheet you are prompted to print after completing the payment 

process online.  Be sure to obtain signatures, if necessary. 

 

Additional Important Renewal Information 

 

 If you have chosen to pay by check, you must print a page to mail with your payment.  If 

your funding unit pays for your certification, this page is what you will submit to your 

funding unit to process the payment.  Please be sure your funding unit includes all 

payment insert sheets with their check.  Renew your certification early enough to allow 

the funding unit time to process before the August 1 deadline.  The late fee is $100. 

 

 CEOs must obtain the signature of their chief judge.  The system will prompt you to print 

a signature page.  CEOs paying by check will send the signature page with their payment.  

CEOs making payment by credit card will mail only the signature page. 

 

 Certification renewals paid by check are not complete until payment is received and 

posted to your account.  It is imperative that you send the page the system prompts you to 

print with your payment for proper posting.  A certification card cannot be printed until 

the payment is posted.   

 

 Credit card payments post to the system automatically at the time of processing. 

 

 You can track your renewal status through the Correcs system once you have processed 

your renewal. Various messages will appear on the renewal screen throughout the 

renewal season.  Beginning June 1, the system will read “Ready.”  As your certification 

processes, the screen will change to reflect your status. 

 

o If you renewed and paid by check, the status will be “Awaiting payment.”  

 

o After the payment is received and posted to the account, the status will change to 

“Payment received, card printed and expiration date updated, card(s) mailed.” 

 

o If you renewed and paid by credit card, the screen will read “Payment received.” 

 

o Once your card has been processed by SCAO staff, the screen will read “Payment 

received, card printed and expiration date updated, card(s) mailed.” 

 

o After August 31, the status will read “Season closed until June 1 of next year.”  

Email CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov to renew. 

  

mailto:CtRec-Info@couts.mi.gov

