Admission to the Bar in Michigan
The Board of Law Examiners certifies attorneys for admission to the bar in this state by Examination (Rule 2) or, on the basis of admission in another jurisdiction, without examination (Rule 5). The Board also recertifies attorneys following periods of inactivity in practice (Rule 8).
The bar examination is offered twice a year, on the final Tuesdays and Wednesdays of February and July.
Admission Without Examination:
The State of Michigan permits admission on motion, without examination. To determine if you qualify for admission on motion, please read carefully the requirements of Rule 5, noting particularly the practice requirements.
After reviewing Rule 5, please follow the steps listed below:
- Read the Board of Law Examiners' Letter to Prospective Applicants.
- Download, fill out, and mail the Application for Admission without Examination.pdf
Complete an application for a Request for Preparation of a Character Report from the National Conference of Bar Examiners by choosing ONE of the following options:
Option 1: Complete the application online at http://www.ncbex.org/ea click on Create Account, accept the license agreement, and select Michigan (Admission Without Exam) to set up an account.
Option 2: Complete the application manually by downloading and printing a blank application; click on the following link:
Request for Preparation of a Character Report>>
Complete the entire application. After printing a hard copy of the application, you will be required to sign and have notarized the necessary forms.
- Return documents listed in items 2 and 3 above with a money order in the amount of $800 payable to the "State of Michigan" and a money order or completed credit card information in the amount of $450 payable to the "National Conference of Bar Examiners" to:
Board of Law Examiners
Michigan Hall of Justice
P.O. Box 30052
Lansing, MI 48909
Board of Law Examiners
Michigan Hall of Justice, 4th Floor
925 W. Ottawa Street
Lansing, MI 48913
- If you require additional information, please contact the Board of Law Examiners at the address listed above, via e-mail at: BLEfirstname.lastname@example.org, or by calling (517) 373-4453.
*Detailed requirements are set forth in Rule 5>>.