Navigate Up
Sign In
Bookmark and Share

From Chief Judge Michael J. Talbot

MJTpressphoto.jpgWelcome to the Court of Claims. The task of presiding over major claims against the State of Michigan and its various agencies and personnel has now been assigned to the Michigan Court of Appeals. All of the judges assigned to the Court of Claims had extensive trial court experience before coming to the Court of Appeals. These judges bring rich insights and practical skills to trial case management.


We will strive to make the Court of Claims a model of efficiency, even as we are sensitive to the needs of the litigants and attorneys who will practice in this Court. Your comments and suggestions will be most welcome.


About the Court

The Court of Claims is a court of statewide, limited jurisdiction (PA 164 of 2013) to hear and determine all civil actions filed against the State of Michigan and its agencies. These cases include highway defect, medical malpractice, contracts, constitutional claims, prisoner litigation, tax-related suits, and other claims for money damages.


As of November 12, 2013, the Court of Claims is located in the Michigan Court of Appeals. Four Court of Appeals judges, including a chief judge, are assigned to the Court of Claims by the Michigan Supreme Court. Each Court of Claims case is heard by a single judge.


The Court of Claims operates much like any other Michigan circuit court. In the Court of Claims, however, there is no right to a jury trial.


Court of Claims Judges

The following Court of Appeals judges were assigned to sit as judges of the Court of Claims for terms expiring May 1, 2017:


Judge Michael J. Talbot is designated as chief judge of the Court of Claims for a term ending May 1, 2017.


Court of Claims Forms

The Court of Claims provides forms to assist you in the process of filing certain items with the Court.

Request for Court Records Form

Stipulated Scheduling Order Form 


Of Current Interest

Recent Orders

  MSC Administrative Order No. 2015-01 assigns judges to the Court of Claims and reappoints Chief Judge for terms expiring May 1, 2017. (Issued 4/22/15; Effective 05/01/15)


MSC Administrative Order No. 2014-16 governs motion practice for the Court of Claims. (Issued 05/21/14; Effective 05/21/14)



The Clerk's Office has prepared a short FAQ reference guide with answers to the most frequently asked questions.


​​Did You Know You Could...

Search for case information?
Find contact information for each district office?
Get directions and maps for each district office?
Review FAQs?
Locate SCAO-approved Court forms