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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
JULY IS JUROR APPRECIATION MONTH, STATE SUPREME COURT DECLARES

LANSING, MI, July 3, 2012 — July has been designated “Juror Appreciation Month” by the
Michigan Supreme Court, to recognize the many Michigan citizens who serve as jurors each year
—and to encourage others to answer the call to jury service.

Chief Justice Robert P. Young Jr. said that the Court chose July, the month in which the
United States celebrates its independence, “to underscore the importance of jury service in our
constitutional republic.”

In a resolution signed by all the justices, the Court proclaimed that “The right to jury trial
is one of the fundamental values of American citizenship; jury service, like voting, is a direct
participation in democracy.”

Young observed, “For many people, their first thought on getting a summons for jury
duty is “How can | get out of it?’ But that’s profoundly unfortunate. Most people find jury
service to be a very rewarding, interesting experience. More importantly, the people whose cases
come before juries are depending on their fellow citizens’ participation.”

Young added, “Juries decide factual issues that affect the liberty and property of others.
This is a critically important role, but we would not have juries without the many people who
generously give of their time to serve.”

Some facts about jury service:

Who gets called? U.S. citizens at least 18 years old who are residents of the court district to
which they are summoned. The jury pool for each court comes from a list of licensed drivers and
state ID card holders in the court’s district. Those who have been convicted of felony crimes are
not eligible for jury service.

Are there exemptions? People over 70 may request an age exemption from jury service. And
while you can be called for duty more than once, you cannot serve on a jury more than once in a
12-month period.

What’s required? Jurors must “be able to communicate in the English language” and “be
physically and mentally able to carry out the functions of a juror.”

What does it pay? Under Michigan law, jurors receive not less than $25 per day and $12.50 per


http://www.courts.michigan.gov/supremecourt/Press/Juror/Juror%20Appreciation%20Month%202012%20resolution.pdf

half day for the first day of service. For each day after that, jurors receive not less than $40 per
day and $20 per half day. Jurors also receive mileage for their trips to and from court. If you
report for duty but do not get on a jury, you are paid for the day.

What if 1 don’t show up? You can be held in contempt of court, fined, or even jailed.

What about work? By law, an employer cannot fire, or discipline or threaten such action,
against an employee who is summoned for jury duty or chosen to serve on a jury, even for a long
trial. Nor can employers force a worker to go beyond normal hours to make up for time spent on
jury service. An employer who takes these actions could be guilty of a misdemeanor or held in
contempt of court.

What’s an acceptable reason to be excused from jury service? That’s up to the court, but
there are a number of grounds for excusing a person from jury service or postponing the service.
“Hardship” is one, and that could include lack of transportation, excessive travel, extreme
financial burden, undue risk to physical property, and being over 70. “Hardship” also includes
situations where your absence from your normal routine would affect another’s care or pose a
risk to public health or safety. A request for a medical related exemption requires a letter from a
doctor. A full-time student who believes that jury service will conflict with his or her classes
must submit a copy of the class schedule.

If I serve on a jury, can I talk about the case afterwards? Once the judge discharges you from
service, you may discuss the case with others, although you don’t have to discuss it. Attorneys in
the case often find it helpful to talk to the jurors afterwards. In a high-profile case, the media will
also want to talk to jurors.

More information about Juror Appreciation Month, including an audio public service
announcement, is online at http://www.courts.michigan.gov/supremecourt/Press/Juror/index.htm.
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