Court of Claims
Frequently Asked Questions

Public Act 164 of 2013 locates the Court of Claims in the Court of Appeals. When does the new
legislation take effect?

The legislation took immediate effect as of November 12, 2013, when it was signed into law by
Governor Rick Snyder.

Where do I file my Notice of Intent to File, my Court of Claims case, or pleadings in my existing Court
of Claims case?

You may file at any Court of Appeals District Office:

First District Third District

Cadillac Place State of Michigan Building
3020 West Grand Boulevard, Suite 14-300 350 Ottawa, NW

Detroit, M| 48202-6020 Grand Rapids, Ml 49503-2349
Second District Fourth District

Columbia Center 2nd Floor, Hall of Justice

201 West Big Beaver Road, Suite 800 925 West Ottawa St.

Troy, M| 48084-4127 PO Box 30022

Lansing, MI 48909-7522

What are the office hours of the Court of Claims?
The hours are 9:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m. for each district office. Clerks are available over the lunch hour.
Will the Ingham County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office continue to accept filings?

No. Court of Claims AO 2013-1 authorizes Ingham Circuit Court to process all pleadings, documents, and
fees, and to enter orders and opinions, on behalf of the Court of Claims for an additional 60 days. But all
filings with the Court of Claims are to be made at Court of Appeals offices. Filers appearing in person at
any Ingham Circuit Court office will be directed to file at the Court of Appeals’ Lansing District Office.

What can | expect when filing with the Court of Claims at the Court of Appeals District offices?

Your filing will be received and filed as of the date presented, as long as it meets the minimum filing
requirements under MCR 8.119(C). You will be issued a receipt and will receive an issued summons,
case number, and judge assignment via mail.

Will the filing date be preserved as of the date received or as of the date summons is issued?

The filing date will be preserved as of the date received at any location, provided the filing has no
defects.
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Will the Court of Claims accept e-filing?

No, the Court of Claims is not accepting e-filed documents at this time.

What are the case type codes used in the Court of Claims?

The case type codes remain the same and are MD, MH MK, MM, MP, MT and MZ.

e Highway Defect [MD]. All claims involving highway defects.

e Medical Malpractice [MH]. All claims involving health-care provider malpractice.

e Contracts [MK]. All other proceedings involving contractual obligations not otherwise coded.

e Constitutional Claims [MM]. All claims for money damages brought under the Michigan
Constitution.

e Prisoner Litigation [MP]. All claims for money damages against the State of Michigan filed by
state prisoners.

e Tax-Related Suits [MT]. All claims involving liability for state taxes.

e Other Damage Suits [MZ]. All other claims for money damages.

How do | pay my filing fee?

Filing fees should be made payable to the Court of Claims. The Court of Claims will continue to accept
cash, check, or money order.

What are the filing fees in the Court of Claims?

The filing fees are the same as those in the Circuit Court, as defined in MCL 600.2529.
e Filing fee - $150
e Motion fee - $20
e Appeal fee - $25
e Garnishment, Execution, Discovery Subpoena or Debtor’s Exam - $15

Who can | contact with questions about the Court of Claims?

You may contact any Court of Appeals District office at the numbers listed below or you can consult the
Michigan Court of Claims website at http://courts.mi.gov/courts/coc.

Detroit (313) 972-5766 Grand Rapids (616) 456-0278
Troy (248) 524-8744 Lansing (517) 373-0807

Where can | read the Court of Claims legislation?

The Court of Claims legislation is available online by linking to 2013 Public Act 164.

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/pdf/2013-PA-0164.pdf

Michigan Court of Claims 2 November 19, 2013


http://courts.mi.gov/courts/coc
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/pdf/2013-PA-0164.pdf

