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MEMORANDUM       
 
DATE:  May 12, 2016  
TO:  JIS District Court System Administrators and Staff 
FROM: JIS District Court Team 
RE:  Fee Transmittal for State of Michigan Update - e-Filing Fees and DNA Assessments  

 
Electronic filing legislation Public Acts 230 - 235 of 2015 required district courts to begin collecting an 
electronic filing system (EFS) fee on March 1, 2016.  We provided revised instructions on  
March 3, 2016 for creating new civil division cash codes EF05, EF10 and EF20 to collect the fee.  Those 
instructions also addressed the collection of the DNA assessment fee when Michigan State Police is the 
collecting law enforcement agency.  
 
The Michigan Department of Treasury (MDOT) is now able to accept the revenue you may have 
collected for the new accounts.  Please see the May 11, 2016 memorandum sent by State Court 
Administrator Milton L. Mack, Jr. for further details.  Additional lines have been added to the Fee 
Transmittal for State of Michigan District or Municipal Court Offices (Department of Treasury Form 
295 Rev. 05-16):  
 

 Line 10 - DNA Assessment Due To State Police - MCL 28.176, Account Number 228.55 
 Line 11 - Judicial Electronic Filing Fund - MCL 600.176, Account Number 228.56 

 
Formerly, line 10 was defined as Children’s Trust Fund - Playground Equipment - MCL 408.685, 
Account Number 228.38.  This has been removed from the state fee transmittal.   
 
The updated state fee transmittal will be applied to your case management system by DCS the week of 
May 23rd   and additional instructions will be sent at that time.  You should not attempt to add line 10 to 
any DNA MSP Assessment Cash Code or line 11 to the EF05, EF10 and EF20 civil cash codes until 
AFTER we have applied the updated state fee transmittal to your system.   
 
If you have already sent in your state fee transmittal for April (due May 20th) using the prior 11-11 
version which generates in DCS, it will be accepted by MDOT.  If you have not submitted your state fee 
transmittal, the 05-16 version is available on the MDOT website if you wish to use it for the transmittal 
due May 20th. 
 
 

http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/jis/court-systems/DCS/RecentCommunication/2016%20REVISED%20DCS%20Instructions%20Adding%20New%20Civil%20Cash%20Codes%20for%20E-Filing%20System%20Fee%20and%20Transmittal%20Changes%20%282016Mar3%29.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/OfficesPrograms/TCS/Documents/TCS%20Memoranda/TCS-2016-13.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/295f_3009_7.pdf
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If your court decides to use the Fee Transmittal 05-16 version and include the DNA-MSP and civil filing 
funds collected in March and April for the transmittal due May 20th, you should take the following steps: 
 

1. Request the State Transmittal for 3/1/16 - 4/30/16 on the Court Wide Cash Report Screen.  
The “Non-Reported Cash Collected - STATE” part of the report will display the amount 
collected during the time frame for the Civil cash codes EF05, EF10, EF20 (they may appear all 
under one code) and whatever cash code you have defined as an MSP DNA Cash Code.  

2. Using the combined totals for March and April, manually populate lines 10 and 11 of the state 
fee transmittal available on the MDOT website.   

3. Except for line 12, Total Collections Due to the State Treasurer, the remainder of the state fee 
transmittal must be populated with your transmittal totals for the month of April only. 

4. Add lines 2 - 11 together and enter total on line 12, Total Collections Due to the State 
Treasurer. 

5. When you do your transmittal for month of May (due June 20th) you will not need to take the 
above steps and will be able to use the updated version of the state transmittal applied by JIS.    

 
If you have further questions regarding this information, please contact the JIS District Court System 
Help Desk. 


