Michigan Supreme Court
State Court Administrative Office
Judicial Information Systems
Michigan Hall of Justice
925 W. Ottawa Street
Lansing, Michigan 48913

MEMORANDUM
DATE: March 3, 2016 (supersedes the February 18, 2016 memorandum)
TO: JIS District Court System Administrators and Staff
FROM: JIS District Court Team
RE: Electronic Filing Legislation - Public Acts 230-235 of 2015

- Instructions for Adding Electronic Filing System Fee Civil Cash Codes
State Transmittal Changes - eFiling Fees and DNA Assessments

See page 3, DNA Assessment State Transmittal ID, for primary revisions to this memorandum.

Electronic filing legislation Public Acts 230 - 235 were signed into law by Governor Snyder on
December 22, 2015 and were effective January 1, 2016. The legislation requires district courts to collect
an “electronic filing system fee” between March 1, 2016 and February 28, 2021. Please refer to the
February 18, 2016 SCAO Trial Court Services Memorandum or the January 4, 2016 Frequently Asked
Questions State Court Administrator Memorandum for more details regarding the legislation.

In order to comply with the legislation, DCS courts must add new civil division cash codes for the
“electronic filing system fee”. Today’s memorandum describes the primary steps to add the new cash
codes.

Changes are also forthcoming to the Fee Transmittal for State of Michigan District or Municipal Court
Offices (Department of Treasury Form 295). The updates to the DCS application will be provided as
soon as possible once the form has been finalized by Treasury and our development and testing of the
updated form is complete. Further instructions will be sent at a future date regarding the changes
to the state transmittal and the appropriate line numbers to use for the new civil cash codes
described below.

New Civil Cash Codes and State Transmittal Account ID

It is important courts take these steps to add the new cash codes as soon as possible. Courts are
required to collect the electronic filing system fees beginning March 1, 2016.

1. Creating new cash codes should be done at the beginning or end of the business day when no
cash transactions are taking place. This allows cash files to align properly when you exit the
Cash Codes Update screen after adding the codes.
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2. Create the following Civil Division Cash Codes for collecting the Electronic Filing System Fee.
- EF05 $5.00 for civil actions filed in small claims cases
- EF10 $10.00 for civil actions filed, including summary proceedings actions
- EF20 $20.00 for civil actions filed if a claim for money damages is joined with a claim for
relief other than money damages

3. Detailed steps for adding a new Cash Code are found on starting on page 4-10 of the
Cash User Guide. NOTE: Civil cash codes do not need to be added in the Traffic/Criminal Code Files
as stated in step 12.

4. Go to ablank ‘Cash Codes Update’ screen to add Cash Code EFO05 in Division C. See the
EF05 (E-FILE FEE) Example below.

a. Select Group Code F (Filing).

b. Each court will need to determine its own Hot Key, Screen Priority and Transmittal Line # Local
Form.

c. The Account ID displayed, *228.56 (Judicial Electronic Filing Fund), is correct. Many courts
include the preceding “*” for state account numbers so they sort to the top of the Accounts
Breakdown Report.

d. The Transmittal Line# State Form has yet to be finalized. We will notify you once JIS has
made appropriate development changes to the state transmittal.

e. Press <ENTER> to add the code.

MAYBERRY Cash Codes Update

Division cC (T=T/C, C=Civil, M=Miscellaneous)

Cash Code EFOB5 Description on Receipt E-FILE $5
The Line # for the State Transmittal is not
Group Code F Hot Key _ yet available. Once development changes
are completed, JIS will notify you.

Screen Priority 981 Default Amount 5.00 T/A Tgi:/:;///’

Transmittal Lineh
Account ID Percentage Venue State Form Local Form

a2
<

x228.56 10

a8
+

Fl1-Clear F4-Prompt F5-Venuesg F6-Transmittal File F23-Delete)
F24-Previous Menu Page/Roll Help

EF05 (E-FILE FEE) Example

5. Repeat the same steps to add Cash Code EF10 and Cash Code EF20. The Account ID and Group
Code are the same as for EF05.
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DNA Assessment State Transmittal Account ID (revised)

On July 10, 2015 we sent a DNA Assessment Cash Code / 2014 Public Act 458 Memorandum. This
provided information about creating cash codes for DNA assessments. Part of the upcoming Fee
Transmittal for State of Michigan changes is a new account ID and line number will be added for DNA
assessments collected by the Michigan State Police (MSP).

All DNA assessments, no matter the law agency doing the collecting, will continue to report with 65%
for account ID 228.59 and line 05-Justice System Fund. When the law agency (25%) collecting the
DNA sample is MSP, the new Account ID of 228.55 (DNA Assessment Due to State Police) will report
to a line number on the yet to be finalized state transmittal. After you have completed your transmittal
for the February ‘Reporting Period’, you can add the Account ID of *228.55 for any DNA Assessment
Cash Code(s) created for MSP. An example DNA Assessment cash code for MSP is shown below. The
State Form line number must remain blank until JIS has applied the updated version to your system. We
will send notification when this occurs.

MAYBERRY Cash Codes Update

Division T (T=T/C, C=Civil, M=Miscellaneous)

Cash Code DNFM Description on Receipt DNA-MSP ASSE
Group Code _ Hot Key _

Screen Priority 286 Default Amount 60.00 T/A Type __

The Account ID will be *228.55 when MSP is the collecting law agency. The State Form line number has yet to be
finalized and must be left blank until JIS has applied the updated version to your system.

Transmittal Line#
Account ID Percentage Venue State Form Local Form

x228 .55 25 % _ 031
x228.58 B85 % _ 5 240
FUNDING UNIT 10 % 010

Fl1-Clear] F4-Prompt F5-Venues FB-Transmittal File F23-Deletg)
F24-Previous Menu Page/Roll He 1p|

If you have further questions regarding these instructions, please contact the JIS District Court System
Help Desk.
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