Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Version HistoryVersion History




Business Courts





Contact E-Mail Address


Contact Name


Contact Picture


Rollup Image


Target Audiences

No targeting

Page Title

Business Courts

Body Copy 2A

Business Courts

​Business courts are intended to provide a case management structure that facilitates more timely, effective, and predictable resolution of complex business cases.  Specialized dockets improve the efficiency of the courts, which benefits all litigants.


Effective October 17, 2012, Public Act 333 requires circuit courts with three or more judges to create a specialized business court docket.  Any case that has a business or commercial dispute as defined in the act, whether in the initial pleading or added later, must be placed on the business docket, even if the case also contains nonbusiness claims.  Courts with less than three circuit judges may, but are not required to, have a business court.


Each business court shall develop a local administrative order (LAO) for operation of its business court docket.  That LAO must be approved by the State Court Administrative Office in accordance with MCR 8.112(B).  


As you begin the process of developing your specialized business court plan, give consideration to judges with some expertise and interest in business law.



Body Copy 2B

Body Copy 3A

​Staff Contact

Jim Inloes

(517) 373-0122


Jennifer Warner

(517) 373-7454

Body Copy 3B

Business Court LAOs


Judges Assigned to Business Court 

Bay County (C18)

Hon. Kenneth W. Schmidt
Berrien County (UTC03)
Hon. John E. Dewane 

Calhoun County (C37)

Hon. James C. Kingsley
Hon. Brian K. Kirkham (replaces Judge Kingsley effective 1/1/15)

Genesee County (C07)

Hon. Judith A. Fullerton

Ingham County (C30)

Hon. Joyce Draganchuk

Jackson County (C04)

Hon. Richard N. LaFlamme

Kalamazoo County (C09)

Hon. J. Richardson Johnson

Kent County (C17)

Hon. Christopher P. Yates

Macomb County (C16)

Hon. John C. Foster

Monroe County (C38) 

Hon. Daniel White

Muskegon County (C14)

Hon. Neil G. Mullally

Oakland County (C06)

Hon. James M. Alexander

Hon. Wendy Lynn Potts

Ottawa County (C20)

Hon. Jon Van Allsburg

Saginaw County (C10)

Hon. M. Randall Jurrens

St. Clair County (C31)

Hon. Daniel J. Kelly

Washtenaw County (C22)

Hon. Archie Cameron Brown

Wayne County (C03)

Hon. Brian R. Sullivan

Hon. Daniel P. Ryan

Hon. Susan D. Borman

Hon. Maria L. Oxholm (replaces Judge Borman effective 1/1/15)




Body Copy 1A

Business Court Opinion Standards

Case Type Checklist

Model LAO 40 - Plan for the Creation of a Specialized Business Court

Related Links 3A

Related Links 1A

Feature Image 2A

Feature Image 3A

Body Copy 1B

Collection Links 01

Collection Links 02

Collection Links 03

Collection Links 04

Collection Links 05

Collection Links 06

Collection Links 07

Collection Links 08

Collection Links 09

Collection Title 01

Collection Title 02

Collection Title 03

Collection Title 04

Collection Title 05

Collection Title 06

Collection Title 07

Collection Title 08

Collection Title 09

MSC Article Date


MSC Article Byline




Collection Title 5a



Body Copy 2C

Body Copy 2D

Body Copy 3D

Body Copy 4D

Content Type: MSC Layout
Version: 41.0
Created at 2/6/2013 12:43 PM by COURT\MarksD
Last modified at 10/23/2014 1:52 PM by COURT\MarksD