
Now open to the Bar 

40 hour General Civil Mediator Training 

This training has been approved by SCAO to fulfill the mediator training  

requirements of MCR 2.411(F)(2)(A). 

 

When: August 19– 21 and 24-26, 2015 

    9:15 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (MUST attend all 6 days to receive your certificate!) 

Where: WMU Cooley Law School Grand Rapids Campus 

Cost: See attached  

Co-trainers: Anne Bachle Fifer, JD and Dale Iverson, J.D. 

are both experienced SCAO-approved trainers and mediators.   They will use a 

combination of lecture, role play, and interactive  exercises to make the training an 

energizing and rewarding event. Training participants will be coached in role plays by 

a team of experienced mediators. 

Questions:  616.774.0121 x101 or info@drcwm.org 



Advanced Practice Skills – Mediation Training 

 

 

Advanced Practice Skills – Mediation Training, a two-credit hour elective class will be taught 

at the Grand Rapids Campus of the Western Michigan University Cooley Law School from 

August 19 to 21, and August 24 to 26 from 9:15 a.m. to 5 p.m. with an hour for lunch.   This 

course satisfies the Michigan State Court Administrative Office requirements for mediation 

training under Michigan Court Rule 2.411.  Students must be present for all 40 hours of the 

training to meet the Court Rule requirements. 

 

There are several seats in this class being made available to local attorneys who would like to 

audit the class as a guest.  If you would like to be considered for this class, please contact WMU 

Cooley’s Registrar at registrar@cooley.edu to enroll.    Details for audits are located below.   

 

WMU Cooley Law School Student Policy Manual: 

 

Section 3.03. Course for Audit by Lawyer Students. Lawyers may audit any course at the Law 

School. 

A. Tuition Rate. WMU-Cooley graduates, and lawyers who have graduated from any other law 

school within the last five years, will be charged only one half of the regular tuition unless they 

are required to take a course as a result of discipline administered by the Attorney Discipline 

Board, in which case they will be charged full tuition. All other lawyers will be charged full 

tuition to audit. Any lawyer wishing to take a course for credit will be charged full tuition. 

Current tuition is 31 and more credits = $1,575 per credit hour (JD Level II) 

B. Fees. A student activity fee will also be charged, and grounds maintenance fee may be 

charged depending on the campus where the class will be taken. 

C. Preparedness. The preparedness policy will not apply unless the lawyer is taking the course 

for credit. 

D. Attendance. If the lawyer student is taking the course for Audit/Credit, notification will be 

sent when the maximum number of absences have been reached, with the advice that if the 

maximum is exceeded, the lawyer student will not receive an Audit/Credit for the course. 
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