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M E M O R A N D U M 

 

 

DATE:   June 19, 2012 

 

TO: Circuit Court Clerks 

 

CC:  Friends of the Court 

 Chief Circuit Judges 

 Presiding Family Division Judges 

 Circuit Court Administrators 

 Family Division Administrators  

 

FROM: Court Liaisons; Kari Ferri, Lee Ann Gaspar, and David Handsor 

 Michigan Department of State 

 

SUBJECT: Friend of the Court FAC/FCJ Clearance Payments to the State of Michigan 

 
 
According to Michigan Compiled Law 257.321c, a failure to appear for a friend of court hearing, comply 

with a repayment plan order, or respond to a license suspension notice can result in the suspension of a 

person’s operator or chauffeur license.  If a suspension takes place, a $45 driver license clearance fee is 

paid, unless waived, to the court.  The court must remit $15 of the $45 to the State of Michigan.  

 

The State Court Administrative Office, the Department of State and the Department of Treasury reviewed 

the separate court payments made to the State of Michigan. The courts also make a monthly payment to 

the Michigan Department of Treasury for several other fees that are collected.  In an effort to reduce the 

number of payments made by the courts to the State of Michigan, the clearance payments referenced in 

the paragraph above will begin to be made through the monthly Department of Treasury fee transmittal 

process as an extension of the current process for other fees collected by the courts and remitted to the 

State of Michigan.  

 

Beginning with FAC/FCJ clearance payments received  in October 2012, each court will send clearance 

payments to the Department of Treasury based upon the court’s records (i.e., clearance fees paid to the 

court), using the Department of Treasury Fee Transmittal Form 57, in line 2 (MCL 257.321c).  A copy of 

the form can be found at http://www.michigan.gov/documents/57f_3011_7.pdf.  The courts can then 

discontinue creating and mailing a remittance form with payment to the Department of State. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact the Revenue Management Unit, Department of State at 

(517)373-8730. 

 

http://www.michigan.gov/documents/57f_3011_7.pdf

