
Type MCR  Requirements 
Certified 8.127(B)(3)(a) Age Require 18 years old (at least) 
 8.127(B)(3)(a) CHC Require not under sentence for felony for at least 2 years 
 8.127(B)(3)(a) Orientation Require attendance at an orientation 
 1.111(A)(5)(c) Registration Require annual registration with SCAO, $60 initial; $30 renewal 
 8.127(C)(1)  $100 late fee after October 1 but before December 31 
   Remove name from roster after Dec. 31; board approval required to 
       reinstate 
 8.127(B)(3)(d) Maintain 

Proficiency 
Demonstrate efforts to maintain proficiency; 10 CEH’s per year 

 1.111(A)(5)(a) Testing Testing - Written English Exam 80% 
 NCSC standard  Testing - Oral Exam – pass all 3 parts @ 70% (neither under 65%) 
*Provisional 
Certification 

NCSC standard Testing Written Exam passed at 80% 

   Oral Exam passed; 2-parts @ 70% (neither under 65%) 
   Pass 3rd part w/i 3 years or 3 administrations; whichever is longer 
Qualified 8.127(B)(3)(b) Age Require at least 18 years old 
 8.127(B)(3)(b) CHC Require not under sentence for felony for at least 2 years 
 8.127(B)(3)(b) Orientation Require attendance at an orientation 
 1.111(A)(7)(a)(i) Registration Require annual registration with SCAO, $60 initial; $30 renewal 
 8.127(C)(1)  $100 late fee after October 1 but before December 31 
   Remove name from roster after Dec. 31; board approval 
      required to reinstate 
 8.127(B)(3)(d) Maintain 

Proficiency 
Demonstrate efforts to maintain proficiency; 10 CEH’s per year 

 NCSC standard Testing Written exam passed at 80% 



 1.111(A)(7)(a)(iii)  Pass Voir Dire by judge 
Qualified 1.111(A)(7)(b)(i) Registration Require annual registration with SCAO, $60 initial; $30 renewal 
Firm 8.127(C)(2)  $100 late fee after October 1 but before December 31 
(in person)   Remove name from roster after Dec. 31; board approval required to 
       reinstate 
   Submit roster of names, languages, whether qualified/certified by 
      Michigan standards 
 1.111(A)(7)(b)(ii) Standards Firm attests all individual working for firm are at least qualified by 

   Michigan standards; and adhere to the Prof. Code of Conduct 
 1.111(A)(7)(b)(iii) Voir Dire Qualified interpreter passes voir dire by judge 
Qualified 1.111(A)(7)(c)(i) Registration Require annual registration with SCAO, $60 initial; $30 renewal 
Firm 8.127(C)(2)  $100 late fee after October 1 but before December 31 
(remote)   Remove name from roster after Dec. 31; board approval required to  
       reinstate 
   Submit roster of names, languages, whether qualified/certified by 
      Michigan standards 
 1.111(A)(7)(c)(ii) Standards Firm attests all individual working for firm are at least qualified by 

   Michigan standards; and adhere to the Prof. Code of Conduct 
 1.111(A)(7)(c)(iii) Voir Dire Qualified interpreter passes voir dire by judge 

 


