
 
 

M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 

DATE:    June 10, 2015 
 
TO: Circuit, District, Family and Municipal Court Judges and Staff 
 
FROM: Court Liaisons; Kari Ferri, Lee Ann Gaspar, and David Handsor 
 Michigan Department of State 
 
SUBJECT: 2014 Public Act 402, 404, & 405 (House Bills 4441, 4443, 4445) 

 
 
Effective March 31, 2015, the Michigan Department of State implemented Public Act’s 402,404, & 405 of 2014, 
amending 324.80176, 324.80177, 324.80178a, 324.82127, 324.82128, 324.82129a, 324.81134, 324.81136, 
324.81137, 324.81140 and 324.81140b of the Michigan Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act.  
 
Per Public Act 402 - MCL324.80176(6) provides that a person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed or 
not, shall not operate a motorboat on the waters of this state if the person has any bodily alcohol content (Zero 
Tolerance). As used in this subsection, "any bodily alcohol content" means either of the following: 
 
 (a) An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 
 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. 
 
 (b) Any presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from the consumption of alcoholic liquor, 
 other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally recognized religious service or 
 ceremony. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.80176(6) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not 
more $250.00 and/or  community service of not more than 360 hours. Violations of MCL 324.80176(6) are not 
eligible for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and shall be reported to MDOS using offense code 
6230.  
 
MCL324.80176 (7) provides that a person, whether licensed or not, is subject to the following requirements: 
 
(a) He or she shall not operate a motorboat in violation of subsection (1), (3), (4), or (5) while another person who is 
less than 16 years of age is occupying the motorboat (Child Endangerment). 
 
(b) He or she shall not operate a motorboat in violation of subsection (6) while another person who is less than 16 
years of age is occupying the motorboat (Child Endangerment). 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.80176(7)(a) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not 
of not less than $200 or more than $1000 and to one or more of the following: community service of not  than 30 
days or more than 90 days and/or imprisonment for not less than five days or more than one year. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.80176(7)(b) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by one or more 
of the following:  a fine of not  more than $500, community service of not than 60 days,  imprisonment of not more 
than 93 days.      
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Violations of MCL 324.80176(7)(a) or (b) are not eligible for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and 
shall be reported to MDOS using offense code 6240. 
 
Per Public Act 404 - MCL 324.82127(6) provides that a person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed or 
not, shall not operate a snowmobile if the person has any bodily alcohol content (Zero Tolerance). As used in this 
subsection, "any bodily alcohol content" means either of the following: 
 
 (a) An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 
 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. 
 
 (b) Any presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from the consumption of alcoholic liquor, 
 other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally recognized religious service or 
 ceremony. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.82127(6) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by not more than a 
fine of $250 and community service of not more than 360 hours. Violations of MCL 324.82127(6) are not eligible 
for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and shall be reported to MDOS using offense code 7230. 
 
MCL 324.82127(7) provides that a person, whether licensed or not, is subject to the following requirements: 
 
(a) He or she shall not operate a snowmobile in violation of subsection (1), (3), (4), or (5) while another person who 
is less than 16 years of age is occupying the snowmobile (Child Endangerment). 
 
(b) He or she shall not operate a snowmobile in violation of subsection (6) while another person who is less than 16 
years of age is occupying the snowmobile (Child Endangerment). 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.82127(7) (a) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by not more 
than a fine of not less than $200 or more than $1000 and to one or more of the following: community service of not 
than 30 days or more than 90 days and/or imprisonment for not less than five days or more than one year. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.82127(7) (b) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by not more 
than a fine of not  more than $500, community service of not than 60 days and/or imprisonment for not  more than 
93 days.    
 
Violations of MCL 324.82127 (7)(a) or (b) are not eligible for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and 
shall be reported to MDOS using offense code 7240. 
 
 Per Public Act 405 – MCL 324.81134(6) provides that a person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed 
or not, shall not operate an ORV if the person has any bodily alcohol content (Zero Tolerance). As used in this 
subsection, "any bodily alcohol content" means either of the following: 
 
 (a) An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 
 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine. 
 
 (b) Any presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from the consumption of alcoholic liquor, 
 other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally recognized religious service or 
 ceremony. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.81134(6) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by not more than a 
fine of $250 and community service of not more than 360 hours. Violations of MCL 324.81134(6) are not eligible 
for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and shall be reported to MDOS using offense code 8060. 
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MCL 324.81134(7) provides that a person, whether licensed or not, shall not operate an ORV in violation of 
subsection (1), (3), (4), (5), or (6) while another person who is less than 16 years of age is occupying the ORV 
(Child Endangerment). 
 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.81134(7) while in violation of subsection (1), (3), (4), or (5) is 
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by not more than a fine of not less than $200 or more than $1000 and to one or 
more of the following: community service of not than 30 days or more than 90 days and/or imprisonment for not 
less than five days or more than one year. 
 
A person who commits a violation of MCL 324.81134(7) while in violation of subsection (6) is guilty of a 
misdemeanor punishable by not more than a fine of not  more than $500, community service of not than 60 days 
and/or imprisonment for not  more than 93 days.    
 
Violations of MCL 324.81134 (7) are not eligible for FAC/FCJ suspension, do not generate any points and shall be 
reported to MDOS using offense code 8070. 
 
 
The Michigan Department of State Court Manual, and the offense code listing located on our web site at: 
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/OffenseCode_73877_7.pdf will be updated to reflect these changes. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact Court Liaisons Kari Ferri (517) 636-0962, Lee Ann Gaspar (810) 762-
0764 or David Handsor (517) 636-0129. 
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